Quartettsatz – Concert Video

Off the Vines Chamber Music | 0 comments

This is one of the concerts from the “Off the Vines” Chamber Music Series of 2018/2019 produced by Symphony of the Vines. The concert features Grace Seng, violin; Sabine Vener, violin; Michael Whitson, viola; and Hilary Clark, cello. It was performed on September 30, 2018, at Pear Valley estate Wine, Paso Robles.

Quartettsatz in C Minor, D. 703
Franz Schubert, 1797 – 1828

Schubert composed the Quartettsatz – that title, which did not originate with Schubert, means simply “quartet movement” – in December 1820, when he was just a few weeks short of his 24th birthday. He had apparently planned to write a standard four-movement quartet, but completed only the first movement and a 41-measure fragment of what would have been an Andante second movement. No one knows why he set so promising a work aside and left it unfinished, but – like the “Unfinished” Symphony – what survives is significant enough by itself to stand as a satisfying whole. (From the concert program notes written by Eric Bromberger.)

Symphony of the Vines is a professional orchestra based in north San Luis Obispo County. The symphony specializes in small orchestra and chamber ensembles playing in various venues including North County wineries.

Please Subscribe For Concert Announcements

Join our mailing list to receive concert announcements. Your information is never shared with any third part at any time.

You have Successfully Subscribed!